2015 Superintendent of the Year nominees announced

(Austin) — Regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award have been announced. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984.

Regional superintendents of the year nominated by regional selection committees are Alda Benavides, La Joya ISD, Region 1; Lynn Burton, Orange Grove ISD, Region 2; Patricia Montgomery, Angleton ISD, Region 4; John Valastro, Lumberton ISD, Region 5; Todd Stephens, Magnolia ISD, Region 6; Mary Ann Whiteker, Hudson ISD, Region 7; Paul Norton, Texarkana ISD, Region 8; Blake Wesley Cooper, Commerce ISD, Region 10; Frank Molinar, White Settlement ISD, Region 11; Diane Frost, Corsicana ISD, Region 12; Douglas Killian, Hutto ISD, Region 13; Reggy Spencer, Colorado ISD, Region 14; David Walker, Christoval ISD, Region 15; Kyle Lynch, Canadian ISD, Region 16; Gilbert Trevino, Floydada ISD, Region 17; David Carr, Stanton ISD, Region 18; Sylvia Hopp, San Elizario ISD, Region 19; and Kevin Brown, Alamo Heights ISD, Region 20.

Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance and commitment to public involvement in education. Superintendents from any of Texas’ 1,029 school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin Aug. 14–15 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced Oct. 3 at the 2015 TASA/TASB Convention in Austin.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school districts. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.1 million students.

Not a subscriber? Click here to subscribe.